Florida Minimum Wage Increase – January 1, 2018
With the new year, a new minimum wage law is in effect. Starting on January 1, 2018, Florida’s minimum wage is now $8.25 per hour.
Employees in a service industry that provide tips in addition to hourly wage will now be entitled to $5.23 per hour.
Steps to take:
- Make sure you are paying your employees at least minimum wage as well as observing all other requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).
- Ensure your required labor law posters are updated and displayed in an area regularly frequented by employees.
Minimum wages will go up in 18 states and about 20 cities and counties; for more details, click HERE.
If you have any questions regarding this new law, or would like assistance in the transition to become compliant with the new minimum wage, please feel free to contact us at 239.433.5554.